5 seats vacated by BNP will go to polls on February 1

The by-election schedule was announced for the seats vacated by the first five of them. Election commission secretary said that the polling date for the reserved women’s seat (women’s seat-50) which became vacant due to the resignation of Rumin Farhana will be announced after the decision of these five seats.

The Election Commission has a legal obligation to conduct by-elections in the respective seats within 90 days of the declaration of vacancy.

Chapainawabganj-3 constituencies with those six members of BNP. The resignation letter of Harunur Rashid was also submitted to the Speaker.

But as the scanned signature and e-mailed resignation letter is not considered ‘signed’, he has to submit it again.

The resignations of BNP said that he will submit his resignation after returning home from Australia.

Source link